Dr. Olugbenga Mokuolu

Associate Professor of Paediatrics, University of Ilorin in Nigeria


Dr. Olugbenga Mokuolu is an associate professor of paediatrics at the University of Ilorin in Nigeria. He has over 15 years experience in the care of the newborn in the tropics, malaria case management and diverse public health activities. Dr. Mokuolu earned his medical degree at the University of Ibadan in Nigeria and completed his residency training in paediatrics and neonatology. He is a fellow of the West-African College of Physicians. His major research focus has been on management of the newborn infections, anthropometry and malaria management; especially gestational age assessment, neonatal infections, perinatal malaria and general care of the newborn with a focus on addressing the challenges of newborn health needs in a developing country using appropriate technology.

Some of Dr. Mokuolu’s major contributions have been with respect to use of digitally recycled incubators, pioneering the use of oxygen concentrators as a cost effective means of oxygen delivery in developing countries, and fabrication of radiant warmers. He has also co-authored a number of landmark publications in the field of malariology.

Dr. Mokuolu’s contributions in malaria cut across academic and programmatic issues. He is a member of the WHO Technical Expert Groups on the development of the Antimalarial Treatment Guidelines and Malaria Case Management Training Modules. He has consulted extensively for countries and various United Nations organizations on malaria case management. He served as lead writer for Global Fund malaria proposals for Malawi, Nigeria and Kenya, which successfully accessed Round 7, 8, 9 and 10 Global Funds respectively.

Dr. Mokuolu has served as chairman for the Medical Advisory Committee at the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital, is currently the acting director of the university’s Medical Centre of Excellence, and chairman of the ICT Committee.
He was the recipient of the university’s 2010 Best Researcher of the Year award.

Other Members